Why do you fly fish?

Why do you fly fish?

Everyone has their own answer. Some do it simply because they love fishing. Some do it because they love to explore. Some, because they want to escape from the stress of their job. Maybe some people do it because they love spending time with the people they get to fish with. We all have our reasons.

At first, I did it because Matt did it. Matt would beg me to go. Sometimes I wanted to, sometimes I didn’t. I liked being on the raft… in the summer… when I could chill out, enjoy the sunshine, and fish 20% of the time we were on the water.  It would drive him crazy when I wasn’t fishing. Being that brat that I was am, I think him wanting me to do it so bad, made me want to do it less. Stupid, right? Yeah, it’s a dumb girl thing. Anyways… when I pulled my head out of my ass and realized how awesome it was, everything changed. Now, I ask Matt to go. I will go rain or shine. I still hate waders, but I don’t complain as much.

Sorry Matt, for taking so long to appreciate the sport you’ve always loved so much. So glad we get to enjoy something so awesome together now.

So here’s to fishing for your own reasons… and pulling your head out of your ass. Life is so much better when you do, I promise.

Fish on!

IMG_5516

IMG_3718

IMG_3677

44625_10150244067810094_540865093_14079731_1131512_n

Image

7 thoughts on “Why do you fly fish?

  1. You are such a doll! Love your pics! You two are a great couple! My name is Amy, I’m your neighbor in Idaho! My fishing backgrounds are very similar to yours. 😉 I’ve been married for 15 years to a guy that is nutty when it comes to fishing. He’s awesome and I learned everything from him. Before I’d go for the tan n sip on coronas all day in summer, winter too dang cold! Now…I’m pushing him to go! The Steelie’s are my fav! =)

    • I always wonder why people “don’t fly fish”. Or fish in general. You get a lot more out of it than something tugging back on the end of your line. Making you can make a post about how to get you significant other mostly females into fly fishing. I’ve been trying to get my wife into it for year. My daughter will have no choice. She’ll either love it or hate it but she will be going with me no matter what.

Leave a Reply

