My First Time… {Steelhead Fishing Washington}

Washington.

Washington will always have a little piece of my heart now. I will always remember my first steelhead. I will never forget how beautiful it was there. I’ll keep the amazing memories I shared with Matt, Ben & Trevor in my mind forever.

I get it now. I have been wanting to chase after a steelhead for a while now. I have heard countless stories that made me want those memories so bad. These fish are so special. They are fighters, they test your patience, they are each so unique, and they always leave you wanting more.

It was so interesting hearing Trevor talk about these amazing fish. He, like so many, is so passionate about them. He loves the chase and it’s what he’s dedicated a huge part of his life to do. He wants to protect them. He wants to share his passion with anyone who will listen. He made me love and appreciate these fish so much more. He also tried to teach me new fishing techniques for a week and didn’t kill me… so that proves he is a patient man. 😉

That feeling you get the moment you realize there is a steelhead attached to your line is one of the coolest feelings on the planet. You feel their strength, you are preparing for the fight, you think of NOTHING else in the world but that fish.It’s unexplainable, only those who have had a steelhead on their line will know what I’m talking about. Because they get it, too.

I think it’s so funny that I am even talking about this right now. Me? Obsessed with fly fishing? It still amazes me. I would have never guessed. Matt has tried to get me to love it for years. The moment I did it for myself, was the moment I fell in love with it.

I’ll be writing another post soon, with more stories, more pictures, and more adventures… but for now, I have to go catch up on everything I missed this last week while I was in Heaven Washington.

Thank you for everything, Trevor. You gave us some pretty incredible memories. Not only did you help catch me my favorite Alaskan rainbow trout of all time, you have now helped get my first steelhead. I will forever be grateful. You also put up with my crazy self for 7 entire days. My hyperness, my laugh attacks, my frustration on the river, my forgetfulness, and my klutziness. You got a little taste of what Matt has to live with on a daily basis, I’m pretty sure that’s why you kept feeding him beers. 😉

Thank you Ben for tagging along and taking video and pictures of our whole journey. You are so patient, so hard working, and so much fun to be around.

Thank you Matt, my amazing husband for helping guide me to love this world of fly fishing so much. I am so glad we get to share it together, you are so patient, and are always so encouraging and supportive. Love you forever!

What a trip…

steelhead

Ben caught this one as Matt and I were headed back to the boat. I love this picture. It’s not posed, we are doing what we love together, I’m sipping on my beer, and all is good!
Photo Credit: Ben Sherman of Lux Montage

Photos of Trevor, Ben & more fishing coming soon!

To contact Trevor and book this amazing trip for yourself contact him here:

Trevor Covich – Worldwide Fly Guide

OpFlyguy@gmail.com – (206) 437-6363

Happy Tuesday everyone!

3 thoughts on “My First Time… {Steelhead Fishing Washington}

  1. Congrats on your first steelhead. That’s a substantial fish. Well done.

    I took my nine year old steelheading for the first time last November. I warned him of the Draconian death march his father had to go through (40 hours of fishing time) before he landed his first steelhead. So what does the kid do? Hooks and lands his first steelhead within his first half hour on the river.

    Kids these days…

  2. Great stuff….My wife never understood the “steelhead thing”, even after a couple of trips to Alaska. “You mean you went fishing for a week and didn’t catch anything?” “Well, uh, yeah, I fell in a couple of times though, does that count for anything?”

    Then, last fall, we, like yourself, fished in Washington. She got exposed to spey casting, got her first on said tackle. Afterwards a kiss was in order, but I think it was for her guide Scott! Now she’s hooked too.

    By the way, nice photos on your photography site.

Leave a Reply

