A great day on the river with my Dad, after wayyyyy too long of a break.

“They say that from the instant he lays eyes on her, a father adores his daughter. Whoever she grows up to be, she is always to him that little girl in pigtails. She makes him feel like Christmas.”  – Anonymous

One of the best days on the river was when my Dad came to visit us out here in Montana from Colorado. He hadn’t ever been fly fishing with us. He hadn’t picked up a fly rod in decades. He talked about his love for it back in the day. I could see his eyes light up with joy just imagining the happy memories of his younger days. Life is hard, it’s not always full of good memories. So those times we get lost in happy moments, are so precious.

So I said, “Time to make new happy memories Dad!” and off to the Big Horn River we went…

It was an amazing day. He was right back in the swing of things and after a quick casting lesson with Matt, he was on his way. He caught some great fish, and like most days, lost some great fish too. Matt said he knows where I get my feisty attitude from. He also seemed to pick up on where I picked up my temper from. When my dad lost that beautiful, humungo trout… he may have said some naughty words. It all made sense to Matt. 😉 Thanks Dad for making me laugh all day.

That day was so special to me, and I know it was really special to my Dad. I love how I can share this with him and enjoy it as much as he does.

Nothing like a good day on the river with the people you love.

My Dad holding me, September 16th, 1986.

Born & Raised in Southern California… I don’t think he would have guessed in a million years that little lady would grow up to love fly fishing. 😉

ImageImageImage

PS- in that last pic, no… that is not slobber being transfered from the fish to me. EW. It’s my glowing hair in the background! I do not actually kiss my fish… I just pretend. 😉

“It is admirable for a man to take his son fishing, but there is a special place in heaven for the father who takes his daughter shopping.” – John Sinor

I want to add on to that quote. My dad did take me shopping, as well as play barbies with me all the time after he got done with a long day of work. Now, we go fishing together. And that is something I can add to the list of all-time memories to the Daddy-daughter list.

5 thoughts on “A great day on the river with my Dad, after wayyyyy too long of a break.

  1. Tracy,
    Loved this post! My Dad is definitely the man who introduced the Outdoors to me, took me fishing and cemented my life long love of being on the water.

    We are indeed lucky girls to have Daddy’s like that.

  2. Heyya, Tracy! Great post! I really appreciate the love and gratitude you have for moments like this. I lost my Dad last year after he suffered a stroke two years ago. Like many say “he was the last person you would think that would happen to”. He was a fighter and tough inside and out and was actually playing tennis the weekend before the stroke. He taught me my to love and appreciate the outdoors, fishing (although not fly fishing that came on my own at 13), etc. Fly fishing became a big part of my life and I passed that on to my own son who is now the head guide at the Angler’s Covey here in Colorado Springs. He and I have many, many great memories of times on the water together. I can say, and he would agree, that fly fishing saved him from a life of trouble. It was a few years ago that made a move to Red Lodge and spent a couple of years there. While I was there I got the chance to take my Dad and my son to fish in the “Park”. It was my Dad’s first time fly fishing and I am eternally grateful for that moment in time….Thanks again for the post! It reminded me of all this… 🙂

Leave a Reply

