Q&A with Tracy Moore- Montana Fly Girl

I had a bunch of questions from you guys on my facebook page, messages and emails… so I am going to try and answer them all as best I can.

The following is only my opinion… and I still have a LOT to learn, so take it with a grain of salt. ๐Ÿ˜‰Screen shot 2014-07-17 at 2.13.08 PM

My “go to” fly when I’m struggling with knowing what they are eating is usually a prince nymph. This all depends, of course on what waters you are fishing… but in Montana, seems like most fish will slurp this up on most occasions.

But on normal occasions… I just ask my hubby, Matt. He seems to always know what they are eating. I have a little bit of an advantage being married to an awesome guide!

ย 

Screen shot 2014-07-17 at 2.13.24 PM

Chris- It would be great to make it out there someday and fish with ya for some of those beauties!! We’ll see! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Screen shot 2014-07-17 at 2.13.18 PM

Richard- Haha, I am not sure I am the best person to teach someone else how to fly fish as I am still not an expert… but I am up for trying anything! I would suggest signing up for a local fly fishing/casting class in your area. Call some local fly shops, they should be able to recommend some. As for my favorite fly… I am pretty obsessed with Hoppers. It’s my favorite season. Nothing like floating a big old hunky hopper on the surface and see a big trout slurp that baby up!

Screen shot 2014-07-17 at 2.13.13 PM

Mike- For the Madison, I have only fished it a handfull of times, but if you are going to float, I suggest the upper stretch. It has gorgeous views and plenty of great fish. If you are wading or want some streamer action, I would go with the lower stretch. For the Gallatin, I’m not sure what stretch, but I can tell you even though it’s a smaller river, it has some massive trout in it! Nice deep banks great for streaming and I have pulled out some pretty large brownies out of there! It’s a really fun river. I would call a local fly shop in that area to find out more information (much better info than I could give you!)! ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great time!!!

Screen shot 2014-07-17 at 2.13.04 PM

Samuel- I love our Sage rods. (The one is probably my favorite right now). For reels, I love Hatch. Very smooth & well built. Fly line, RIO is the best. My hubby just did a blog post about it here, check it out for lots of great info!

Screen shot 2014-07-17 at 2.12.59 PM

Monica- I have never used a hornberg… sorry you didn’t have luck with it out here! For the Big Horn river, I like using my Sage One 5 weight, with the 3 plus finatic Hatch reel. I love RIO line, it’s the best.

Screen shot 2014-07-17 at 2.12.53 PM

Jeffrey- This is way too hard of a question!! I have so many more rivers to fish until I can answer this! Haha… for now, I would say I like the Big Horn the best. Probably because some of my favorite memories are on that river. I learned so much on that river, we are always there, it always produces great fish, and it always makes for a fun day! Outside of Montana, I loved fishing the Kanektok river. Sooooooo many salmon my arm hurt!!!!

Screen shot 2014-07-17 at 2.12.50 PM

Thomas- Never read the book, but I do love the movie! It’s always inspiring to watch. Especially because we fish in some of the same spots the movie was filmed at! This scene is the BEST:

Screen shot 2014-07-17 at 2.12.45 PM

David- Ha! Not sure!! It’s definitely becoming a more popular hobby/sport for many women now. The ladies are finally catching on and having a blast!

Screen shot 2014-07-17 at 2.12.40 PM

Theresa- I started my photography business 5 years ago, and Matt fully supported that and helped any way he could. I just decided to go for it while I’m young and don’t have much to lose… and I’m so glad I did! As for Matt… he decided to become a Fly Fishing guide pretty recently, and it’s not his own business as he guides under other outfitters, but it was similar to my experience. Quit the job you hate, do what you love, and I believe you will be successful if you are truly passionate about what you do. Our next business venture together will be Rod & Reel Adventures. More coming on that soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

Screen shot 2014-07-17 at 2.12.30 PM

Samantha- Sometimes good fish pics are so tough to get!! Here are my top 3 suggestions in a nutshell on how to take better pictures while out on the river:

1. Camera Selection: I have taken my $5,000 professional set up out on the river, I have used my Canon G11 (A smaller digital camera), and just my plain old iPhone… and you know what? I found the best camera you can have on the river is whatever you have in your hand at the time! Of course, the fancy cameras can do some more fancy things… but that’s not what the average person has. And it is a pain in the ass to take along with you. I would shoot for a smaller waterproof digital camera (I hear theย Panasonic Lumix is a great one).

81ZPN6D8QaL._SL1500_

2. Lighting. Light is very important for a good picture. I would either find a shaded spot, or direct sunlight for fish pics. Steer clear of the sun hitting you from the side, that will cause awful shadows and make the detail of the fish harder to see.

3. Hand position. Hold the fish right under its neck (behind the fins) with one hand, and wrap your other hand tightly (but not too tight) around the tough spot right behind the tail. Hold it out towards the camera with a slight arm bend. Don’t straight arm it to make it look bigger… everyone knows. ๐Ÿ˜‰

54867_10152340961210094_1083376577_o

Screen shot 2014-07-17 at 2.12.20 PM

Emily… you will look adorable in one of theย Maji Love headbands! There are many ways to wear it. With your hair up in a smaller headband, hair down more hippie style, with a braid… and much more. Play around with it and see what your favorite style is! They are great on the river, keeps hair out of the way!

IMG_3393

Screen shot 2014-07-17 at 2.12.11 PM

August- the best time is NOW! ๐Ÿ™‚ I have a friend who is already teaching his 3 year old how to fly fish! Go into your local fly shop and ask what the best set up is for her and get her on the river!

Screen shot 2014-07-17 at 2.12.07 PM

Wayne- Dry fly? Streamer? Nymphing? Too tough of a question unless I know more details. I love fishing during hopper season as I said before, but for nymphing, A good old prince nymph with a midge dragging is always a good set up for some rainbows!

Screen shot 2014-07-17 at 2.12.03 PM

Anthony- Heck yes! When and where?! We love steelheads and haven’t got to fish them much… always down for a new adventure!

Screen shot 2014-07-17 at 2.11.58 PM

Thanks, Tim!! Come back out and visit!

Screen shot 2014-07-17 at 2.11.54 PM

I just did a post on this last week, check it outย here to see what I need when I get out there!

Screen shot 2014-07-17 at 2.11.50 PM

Jason- try the Stillwater, Yellowstone or take a little drive and hit up the Gallatin or the Madison! Ask local fly shops what their favorite wading stretches are and what they are hitting on, and have fun exploring!

Screen shot 2014-07-17 at 3.01.08 PM

Steve- haha! Man… all my fly girl friends are taken! They get snatched up fast!! Someone should invent a dating site for fly fishing lovers…

Thanks for all the questions, you guys! Hope some of my answers helped! Like I said before… I am NO expert and these are just my opinions… so feel free to comment with your own suggestions or corrections in the comments!!

Have a great weekend everyone!

blogsigย 

One thought on “Q&A with Tracy Moore- Montana Fly Girl

  1. Thanks Tracy for an interesting and educational presentation. Nice to see more women are entering this classic sport. When I began flyfishing in 1971 I was often the ONLY women wading a river. I got my share of spin casting plugs and spoons thrown at me especially when I kept catching fish and those not flyfishing did not catch anything. I had to learn to “place my fly presentation close to those attacking me”….needless to say they backed off!! My son John Angus Bond of Bozeman uses Sage products and I enjoyed his Sage rods when visiting him. I never thought I could truly fish well when my Scientific Angler graphite rod broke on the Yellowstone River. I was shocked and deeply hurt when the company would not and could not replace the broken part. I felt as if a part of me had been torn us-under. When I took my first flyfishing courses back in the 1970’s, the reel was not considered all that important. But Angus made me see the value of a really good reel. Having a good line makes flyfishing so wonderful. Glad I learned all the necessary knots one needs to know…..being 67 the sight isn’t like it was, so going by the feel is it. So happy you are pursuing your dream. I am thrilled my son left Vermont for his dream of living, fishing, loving, and working in Montana. Tight lines and thanks for being you.

Leave a Reply

